Soft Rolls!!

Bread, bread, bread and more bread! That was the theme of last night’s baking class.

In Ontario, we have a provincial holiday called Family Day that happens in February. And because of that holiday, last week’s baking class was cancelled. Well, not exactly cancelled, but postponed may be a better way of saying it. Either way, I discovered that when last Tuesday rolled around, I began to go through withdrawls because I had not had my weekly baking class the night before. Needless to say, by the time yesterday night came knockin’, I was more than excited about my class.

But here’s the thing.. Yes, I was excited that my class was back in session, but even more so, I was super excited about what I was learning to make in class: BREAD!

I have always wanted to learn how to make bread. There is nothing better than the smell of freshly baked bread. And last night’s class did not disappoint. What we ended up making was bread dough, that was cut down to about 3 oz sizes, and rolled into soft roll balls. Then we made a huge selection of breads from those soft roll balls.

First item – was a tear-away loaf. In a 7 inch cake pan I placed 1 soft roll in the centre, and 6 others surrounding it. I then covered my soft rolls with seasoning (salt, oregano, chili pepper spice) and cheese. Lots of shredded cheddar and parmesan cheese. It was then left to rise, and bake. When done, it was huge! It had expanded high above the cake pan into this loaf several inches high. And to top it off, it tasted amazing!

The next thing I made was a braided loaf. I rolled out 3 soft roll balls, long and narrow. I then braided them into a long, yet thick loaf. I seasoned the loaf with garlic and a pile of cheese. When finished, it had expanded to almost twice its size. The cheese melted into the braided curves, and the inside was soft and yummy.

The last thing I decided to do with the soft rolls were to turn them into bread art! 😉
First, I created double-knot rolls.
Second, I tied figure-eight rolls.
Thirdly, I tied small braided rolls.
And lastly, I created rolls into the shape of doggy-bones. 🙂 They were super cute!
I then seasoned each style of rolls with different seasoning, and put them in the oven to bake.
When completed, all of my rolls looked like they were perfect little works of art – beautiful to look at, and even better to eat.

Can’t wait until next week’s class!

Leave a Reply

