Soup!

Okay.. I’m on this new kick… my obsession with soup.

It started a couple years ago when Brent and I went to Taste the Season in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Taste the Season is where people can devote a full weekend to a wine and food extravaganza presented by local wineries of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Usually anywhere between 17-19 wineries participate (though I hear that 22 wineries may be participating this year). Hailed as the ‘go to event of the season’, this popular touring and tasting program celebrates the season’s bounty. It’s also a great time to explore unique wine and gift selections or stock up for all your holiday entertaining. Taste the Season takes place in Niagara during the month of November.

Anyway, a couple years ago while we were at our anual weekend away at Taste the Season, one of the wineries combined their wine selection with a soup. I believe it was a Minestone, but it started a discussion between the two of us about how we would like to start making soups from scratch. Although this idea never left my mind, and in fact has had me searching for interesting soup recipes over the past couple years, I never actually acted on it. Until today!

Last week I came across this fabulous book called Soup. It contains over 100 temptingly-tasty soups, in addition to the instructions on how to create the stocks from scratch that are the intergral part of a soup. So I bought it.

And today, after several days of planning, I began my taste-testing of soups. I will admit it was an extremely long day. It started first thing in the morning where I dug deep into the cupboard to find the perfect tall pot to make my chicken soup stock. From there I began making my stock by browning 3 pounds or 1.3 kilograms of chicken thighs and legs in the pot, along with two large onions cut into wedges. I then added water, which I brought to a boil. Then I added carrots, celery, fresh parsley sprigs, fresh thyme sprigs, bay leaves and peppercorns. I then let the ingredients simmer for 3 hours. After 3 hours I strained my stock into a bowl, let it cood and stored in the refridgerator. Once it was cold I was then able to begin phase 2.

Cream of Chicken Soup.

Phase 2: Cream of Chicken Soup.
Yup.. I am crazy. Or maybe just I have never made soup before. Or maybe, in all honesty, it is a little of both. Okay, so I admit I have never made soup before and thus I was not aware that it would have been smarter to make the chicken stock, then let it sit over night, then make the Cream of Chicken Soup the following day. But alas, I didn’t and so my extremely long day continued as I conquered my first soup creation.

For the Cream of Chicken Soup I had to melt butter in a pot and add chopped up shallots. I then added chopped up leeks for a few more minutes, stirring the whole time. I then added 1 pound or 454 grams of chopped chicken, chopped fresh parsley, fresh chopped thyme, and seasoning – salt and pepper. I brought it to a boil, lowered the heat, and let simmer for 25 minutes. I then removed the pot from the heat and let the soup cool for 10 minutes. I then transfered the soup to my blender and processed the soup until it was super smooth. I returned the soup to the rinsed pot and warmed up the soup on low heat for 5 minutes. I then added heavy cream and cooked it for another 2 minutes. Then I removed the soup from the heat and spooned the yummy fresh soup into serving bowls. I added a thyme sprig as garnish and voila: home-made fresh-from-scratch Cream of Chicken Soup! Delicious!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

