Chicken and Potato Soup with Bacon

Chicken and Potato Soup with Bacon.

Last night I made soup number two! I made Chicken and Potato Soup with Bacon. Yummy!!

I began with the Chicken Stock I had previously made. It was stashed away in my freezer. While it was defrosting, I started chopping up leeks, a couple of garlic cloves, and an onion. I continued by chopping a pound of potatoes, a pile of chicken, and a whole lot of bacon, all into bite size pieces. I will admit it definitely took alot longer to chop and slice everything than I had planned. But oh well, it looked great and I couldnt wait to begin making my soup. 😉

Once everything was ready, I melted some butter in the bottom of a large pot. I added the garlic and onion. Cooked it and stirred for 3 minutes until slightly softened. I then added the bacon and leeks, cooked everything for another 3 minutes, stirring. Then in a separate little dish, I mixed a bit of flour with just enough stock to make a smooth paste. I then added the paste to the pot, stirring for 2 minutes. I poured the remaining stock into the pot, then added the potatoes and chicken. I seasoned the soup with salt and pepper, brought it to a boil, then lowered the heat and simmered the soup for 25 minutes. After the 25 minutes, I stirred in cream and cooked for another 2 minutes. I removed it from the heat, and served immediately with a garnish of a strip of cooked bacon on top and a flat-leaf parsley.

This soup was super delicious, very flavourful, and extremely hearty. Its definitely one soup that can be served as a meal. I accompanied mine with garlic herb bread. 🙂

Leave a Reply

