Chicken, chicken, and more chicken!!!

Remember how I mentioned that I bought that soup book? Well, I also bought two chicken books. One is called Chicken, and the other Easy Chicken. Nice simple names that didn’t scare me, and delicious looking and sounding recipes, and I was hooked.

I have been going through these books for a couple weeks now trying to decide what to make. There are so many fabulous options that I almost don’t know where to start. Well, not until now. First chicken dish: Chicken and Herb Fritters. It sounds delicious. It sounds kind of cute and fun, and even a bit uncomplicated (which is a great way to start). And most importantly, it has three things that I love – chicken, bacon and mashed potatoes! πŸ˜‰

Chicken and Herb Fritters.

So here’s what I did: In a large bowl I blended mashed potatoes, cooked chicken, finely chopped bacon pieces, herbs (parsley, basil, and rosemary) with one lightly beaten egg, and salt and pepper. I then shaped them into 8 little flat pancakes, but you can make small balls as well.

I added some milk to another lightly beaten egg in a separate dish.

Next I placed fresh (brown) bread crumbs on a plate, dipped the flat pancakes into the egg and milk mixture, and ‘rolled’ them in the breadcrumbs, making sure to coat them completely.

I then heated oil in a large, yet shallow skillet. I cooked the fritters in the oil until they were golden brown. I served them hot alongside a delicious fresh garden salad. Yum! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

