Chicken Ravioli in Tarragon Broth

Chicken Ravioli in Tarragon Broth.

Soup adventure #3: Chicken Ravioli in Tarragon Broth. 🙂

Yesterday I decided for my third soup adventure I would be ambitious. And trust me when I say, “ambitious” is an understatement! This soup started with the basics – my wonderful pre-made (and removed from the freezer) chicken stock. So I, at least, had that working for me. But what else still needed to be done to make this adventure a success was daunting.

The name says it all – Chicken Ravioli. That means I needed to not only make the pasta dough from scratch but also make the filling that was to go in the raviolis, which were to go in the soup. To make the pasta, I had to combine flour, tarragon, and salt in a food processor. I had to beat together an egg, an egg yolk, extra virgin olive oil, and water. With the machine running, I added the egg mixture until it formed a ball. I then wrapped it and chilled it for 30 minutes. I reserved the egg white for later.

To make the filling, I put the chicken, grated lemon rind, and freshly chopped tarragon, chives and parsley in a food processor. I seasoned with salt and vinegar. I finely chopped everything, scraped it into a bowl, and stirred in the heavy cream.

I divided the pasta dough into half, covering one half, and rolled the other half as thinly as possible (less than 1/16 inch/1.5 mm). I then cut it into rectangles about 4×2 inches/10 x 5 cm.

I placed rounded teaspoons of the filling on one half of the dough pieces. I brushed around the edges with the egg white and folded the dough in half. I pressed the edges gently, but firmly, to seal them. I then arranged the ravioli in one layer on a flour dusted baking sheet. I then let the ravioli to dry in a cool place for about 15 minutes, or you can chill for 1-2 hours.

I then filled a pot with alot of water and brought it to a boil. I dropped in the ravioli and cooked them for 12-15 minutes, until tender. I drained them on a clean dish towel.

In the meantime, I put the chicken stock and additional tarragon in a large saucepan. I brought it to a boil and then slightly reduced the heat. I covered it and let it simmer for 15 minutes to infuse. I then added the cooked ravioli and let it simmer for 5 minutes. After those 5 minutes it was done and ready to eat. Yum!
😀

P.S…. I even made a brand new batch of Chicken Stock, can you believe it? I must be crazy.. but its the only way to continue with my soup adventures. Positive note: the house smelt incredibly good all day from the stock cooking. 😉

Leave a Reply

