Cheese & Bacon Soup.

Cheese and Bacon Soup.

After the very time consuming soup adventure last time.. Tonight I decided to tackle an easier one this time around. The plan: Cheese & Bacon Soup.

I melted butter in a large pan, added chopped garlic and onion and cooked, stirring until slighly softened. I then added chopped bacon and leeks, cooking for a few more minutes.

In a separate bowl, I mixed flour with enough chicken stock to make a smooth paste, and stirred it into the pan. After a few minutes, I poured in the remaining stock, and added chopped potatoes. I seasoned with salt and pepper, brought the soup to a boil, then lowered the heat and let the soup gently simmer for 25 minutes, until the potatoes were tender and cooked through.

I stirred in heavy cream and cooked for an additional 5 minutes, then gradually stirred in grated cheddar cheese, until melted. I removed the soup from the heat and served with a little grated cheese for garnish. Mmm mmm good! 😉

Leave a Reply

