Vegetable Stock..

When I peeked into my freezer I saw that I still have a little bit of Chicken Stock left to make two more soups, but I decided to venture out of the chicken zone today and make Vegetable Stock.

My husband loves Minestrone, and Vegetable Stock is the base stock for that soup, so I made it today. Can I just say that compared to Chicken Stock, Vegetable Stock is super easy. Wow!

Don’t get me wrong, there is alot of work involved in terms of all the cutting of vegetables, but there isn’t that ultra long wait of hours waiting for the stock to simmer, or the browning of the chicken before you even begin the simmering. With Vegetable Stock, you cut, you cook, you’re done! In fact, you can immediately make a soup from that stock. Unlike Chicken Stock where you have to let it cool for hours, so the fat rises to the top, and then you have to remove it.

So that’s what I did today.. I made Vegetable Stock! 🙂

And here’s what I did: I heated vegetable oil in a large pan, then added a finely chopped onion and finely chopped leek to cook over low heat, stirring occasionally for 5 minutes and until softened. I then added finely chopped carrots, celery stalks, fennel and a tomato, covered the pot and let it cook for 10 minutes. I then added water and a bouquet garni (consisting of fresh basil, thyme, rosemary, and parsley), brought it to a boil, and then let it simmer for 20 minutes. I then strained the stock into a bowl and let it cool. Voila! 😉

Leave a Reply

