Minestrone Soup

Minestrone Soup.

Today I made Minestrone Soup! 🙂

My husband loves Minestrone soup so I wanted to make it especially for him. I started by heating olive oil in a large pot, then adding garlic, a red onion, and thinly sliced proscuitto, and cooked it all over a medium heat for 3 minutes until slightly softened. I then added chopped red and orange bell peppers, and chopped tomatoes, and cooked for an additional 2 minutes. I then stirred in pre-made vegetable stock (that I made a few days ago), sliced celery, cranberry beans, shredded cabbage, peas, and chopped fresh parsley. I seasoned with salt and pepper, brought it to a boil, then lowered the heat and let simmer for 30 minutes.

After the 30 minutes of simmering, I added vermicelli to the pot, and cooked the soup for another 10-12 minutes. I removed the soup from the heat and served it garnished with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Yum!

I also made another soup today.. or maybe I should say, I “revisited” another soup today! 😉 In addition to the Minestrone soup, I also made Chicken and Potato Soup with Bacon. That soup was so amazing last time, that I really wanted it today just for me! Hahaha.. 😀

Leave a Reply

