French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup.

The latest installment in our soup adventures was French Onion Soup!

I have never made French Onion Soup, nor did I have any idea what went into making French Onion Soup, other than onions and cheese. So this was definitely a new and fascinating learning experience. ๐Ÿ™‚

First I thinly sliced the onions. I heated olive oil in a large pot over medium-low heat, added the onions, and cooked, stirring cccasionally for 10 minutes, and until they began to turn brown. I then stirred in chopped garlic, sugar, and freshly chopped thyme, reduced the heat and let cook, stirring occasionally for 30 minutes, and until the onions became golden brown.

I sprinkled in flour and cooked, stirring constantly, for 1-2 minutes. I stirred in dry white wine. Gradually I stirred in the premade vegetable stock that I had made a few weeks earlier, brought it to a boil, skimming off any foam that rose to the surface, then reduced the heat and let simmer for 45 minutes.

Meanwhile, I preheated the broiler to medium. I toasted the French bread slices on both sides under the broiler, then rubbed the toast with a cut edge of a halved garlic clove.

I then ladled the soup into ovenproof bowls set on a baking sheet. I floated the toast in each bowl and divided the grated Gruyere cheese among them. I placed the sheet under the broiler for 2-3 minutes, and until the cheese had just melted. I garnished with a thyme sprig and served. Yum! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

