Soup and Sandwiches… yum yum yum!

Yesterday I made soup and sandwiches, but not just any soup or sandwich… In fact I made the next soup installment in my soup adventures: Tomato Soup. As well, I tried a new fancy gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwich. 🙂

Tomato Soup

Soup Adventure #8: Tomato Soup.

First I made Tomato Soup. I melted butter in a pot, added finely chopped onions and cooked over a low heat, stirring occasionally for about 5-6 minutes until softened. I then added crushed tomatoes (though coarsely chopped tomatoes work as well), and a bay leaf and cooked, stirring occasionally, for 15 minutes, or until pulpy.

Meanwhile, I melted butter in another small pot, added flour and cooked, stirring contsantly, for 1 minute. I removed the pot from the heat and gradually stirred in milk. I returned the pot to the heat, seasoned with salt and pepper, and brought it to a boil, stirring constantly. I continued to cook, stirring, until smooth and thickened.

When the tomatoes were pulpy, I removed the pan from the heat, discarded the bay leaf, and poured the tomato mixture into a blender. I processed it until it was smooth, then pushed it through a fine strainer into a clean pan. I brought the tomato puree to a boil, then gradually stirred it into the milk mixture. I seasoned it with salt and pepper, and laddled the soup into warmed bowls, and garnished with basil. The result was super creamy and delicious! 🙂

Gruyère, Red Onion, Prosciutto and Pepper on Miche.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich Adventure #2: Gruyère, Red Onion, Prosciutto and Pepper

I decided to make Gruyère, Red Onion, Prosciutto and Pepper Grilled Cheese Sandwiches as the next installment in the gourmet sandwich adventures. Although I have it listed as the Grilled Cheese Sandwich Adventure #2, I think I will eventually venture out into other sandwich territories and expand my repetoire. Hahaha ;).

Anyway, this recipe was also taken from the Oprah Show. The original recipe was Gruyère, Red Onion, Prosciutto and Pepper on Rye, but I chose to use the Quebec Miche I baked in my Rustic Artisan Breads class instead. It turned out great. Just be careful not to use too much of the prosciutto because it is very salty and you don’t want the saltiness to overpower the other flavours. With its peppery finish, this combo is reminiscent of a Reuben sandwich. Yummy! 😀

Leave a Reply

