Chicken Kabobs in a Yogurt Sauce Marinade

Chicken Kabobs in a Yogurt Sauce Marinade

Last night I decided to get back to my original plan and try new dishes out of the chicken recipe books that I bought not that long ago. My final decision? Chicken Kabobs in a Yogurt Marinade! Yum!

First I made the sauce by putting the plain yogurt, crushed garlic glove, lemon juice, salt and pepper, and finely chopped herbs (I chose fresh oregano, rosemary, basil, and parsley) in a bowl and mixed well.

I then cut the chicken breasts into chunks measuring about 1.5 inches/4 cm square. I added the chicken to theyogurt mixture and tossed well together until the chicken pieces were coated. I covered and left it to marinade in the refrigerator for about an hour. If you are using wooden skewers like me, soak them in cold water for at least 30 minutes before use, but frankly, soaking them overnight for about 24 hours is even better.

I preheated the broiler. I then threaded the pieces of chicken onto flat, oiled wooden kabob skewers, though metal skewers or rosemary stems work as well. Then place them on an oiled broiler pan.

I cooked the kabobs under the broiler for about 15 minutes, turning and basting with the remaining marinade occasionally, until lightly browned and tender.

I served the kabobs with shredded lettuce, on a bed of rice, and garnished with lemon wedges. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

