And the 2011 Tour de France Winner is… Cadel Evans! :)


And the winner of the 2011 Tour de France is Australian Cadel Evans from Team BMC! In fact, he is the first Australian to ever win the Tour. In the past he has come awfully close, placing second twice by less than one minute (23 seconds behind Alberto Contador in 2007 and 58 seconds behind Carlos Sastre in 2008).  The BMC team leader was never worse than fourth place in the general classification and, with his second place in the time trial in Grenoble the previous day, he acquired the yellow jersey. This was Cadel’s seventh at the Tour de France.

Tour de France Top 3 (L to R: 2nd place, Andy Schleck, Winner Cadel Evans, and 3rd place Frank Schleck).
Top four category jersey winners for the 2011 Tour de France: (L to R: White Jersey Pierre Rolland, Polka-Dot Jersey Samuel Sanchez, Green Jersey Mark Cavendish, and Yellow Jersey Cadel Evans).

This final stage of the Tour de France started off slow, the riders took over half an hour to roll through the 7.7km neutral zone before arriving at the site of the official start of the 21st stage of the 98th Tour de France. The final day of racing in the 2011 edition began at 3.02pm with 167 riders in the peloton. There were no climbs in the stage and the intermediate sprint came on the Avenue des Champs-Elysées with 35.5km to go. After an hour and 26 minutes of riding the peloton reached the finishing circuit on the Champs-Elysées. It was on the second lap of the circuit, that the attackes started and there was the first successful escape. At the end, after the last of the escapees was caught, the traditional line-up for the sprint: Goss then Renshaw then Cavendish and… victory number 20 was achieved for Cavendish. It is the third time that Cavendish has finished the Tour and he’s won in Paris each time. It is the first time however, that he is the winner of the green jersey. Andy and Fränk Schleck finished second and third overall.

The winners of the four Tour de France Jerseys are:
* Final overall classification (Winner of the Tour de France – Yellow Jersey) – Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing
* Final points classification (Top Sprinter of the Tour de France – Green Jersey) – Mark Cavendish (GB) HTC-Highroad 
* Final mountains classification (Top Mountain Climber of the Tour de France – Polka-Dot Jersey) – Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
* Final youth classification (Best Young Rider Under the Age of 25 in the Tour de France – White Jersey) – Pierre Rolland (Fra) Europcar

Tour de France 2011, stage 21: Créteil to Paris Champs-Élysées, 95km
1. Mark Cavendish (GB) HTC-Highroad

2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky
3. Andre Greipel (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto
4. Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Cervelo
5. Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard-Trek
6. Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
7. Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil-DCM
8. Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu) Astana
9. Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Quick Step
10. Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Saur-Sojasun all same time

Final overall classification
1. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing

2. Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard-Trek at 1-34
3. Frank Schleck (Lux) Leopard-Trek at 2-30
4. Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Europcar at 3-20
5. Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo Bank-Sungard at 3-57
6. Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 4-55
7. Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-ISD at 6-05
8. Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 7-23
9. Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin-Cervelo at 8-15
10. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale at 10-11
31. Geraint Thomas (GB) Sky at 1-00-48
76. David Millar (GB) Garmin-Cervelo at 2-14-56
130. Mark Cavendish (GB) HTC-Highroad at 3-15-05
137. Ben Swift (GB) Sky at 3-18-07

Final points classification (green jersey)
1. Mark Cavendish (GB) HTC-Highroad 334 points
2. Jose Rojas (Spa) Movistar 272 points
3. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 236 points

Final mountains classification (polka-dot jersey)
1. Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 108 points

2. Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard-Trek 98 points
3. Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 74 points

Final youth classification (white jersey)
1. Pierre Rolland (Fra) Europcar

2. Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis at 46 sec
3. Jerome Coppel (Fra) Saur-Sojasun at 7-53

Team classification
1. Garmin-Cervelo

Team Garmin Cervelo - Winner of Team Classification at 2011 Tour de France.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s