Soup Adventures… Chicken & Rice Soup

Chicken and Rice Soup!
Chicken and Rice Soup!

This weekend was the next installment of my Soup Adventures. The soup? Chicken & Rice Soup! 🙂

First I put previously made home-made chicken stock in a large saucepan and added very thinly chopped carrots, finely diced celery, and thinly sliced leeks. I brought it to a boil, reduced the heat to low, and let it simmer gently, partially covered, for 10 minutes.

I then stirred in precooked rice and precooked chicken and continued cooking for an additional 10-15 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender.
[*Note: if you like peas, this would be the time to add petit pois.]

I added chopped fresh tarragon and parsley. Taste to adjust the seasoning, adding salt and pepper.

I the ladled the soup into warmed bowls. I garnished with fresh parsley, and served.

Leave a Reply

