The Emilian

The Emilian: Prosciutto with Caramelized Cantaloupe Chutney.
The Emilian: Prosciutto with Caramelized Cantaloupe Chutney.

The next installment of my Pizza Adventures was The Emilian – Prosciutto with Caramelized Cantaloupe Chutney! Yummy!!

This pizza was amazing because it was a combination of salty and sweet. Subtle salty flavours from the prosciutto, and sweet from the cantaloupe chutney. And the best part? No two bites were the same! šŸ™‚

To start I had to take out the last of my premade (frozen) balls of pizza dough. I let it defrost for several hours and rise.

Now to begin the toppings for the pizza. First up, making the Cantaloupe Chutney. I put sugar and water in a small skillet over medium heat. I stirred constantly until it was a light golden brown. Then I added cantaloupe chopped into little cubes, half a fresh jalapeno minced, red wine vinegar, and stirred. I reduced the heat to medium low, and let it cook until most of the liquid was gone. I stirred it occasionally so it wouldn’t burn on the bottom. Once the chutney had thickened, I removed it from the heat and stirred in extra virgin olive oil.

I then brushed my defrosted and stretched pizza dough base with my Herbed Grill Oil. I sprinkled on grated Parmesan, Mozzarella, and Fontina cheeses. I dropped spoonfuls of the Cantaloupe Chutney on top, then added the prosciutto in bunched up slices, filling up the spots to make a colourful pattern. I then sprinkled crumbled Gorgonzola all over the pizza.

In the oven it went to cook. When the pizza was ready, I sprinkled chopped fresh sage leaves. If you desire, you can also sprinkle roasted walnuts.

Yum yum yum!!
šŸ˜€

Prosciutto and Cantaloupe Chutney Pizza
Prosciutto and Cantaloupe Chutney Pizza
One thought on “The Emilian”

  1. Hi Jacenta

    This pizza looks so delicious, I wished I had one for supper to-night.
    Too bad you live so far away from me, otherwise I could come over and sample it. Hopefully one day!
    Love.

    Mom

Leave a Reply

