Chicken Tostadas With Green Salsa & Chipotle

Chicken Tostada with Green Salsa & Chipotle.
Chicken Tostada with Green Salsa & Chipotle.

The other night I tried something new.. Chicken Tostadas With Green Salsa & Chipotle! 🙂

To make the tostadas, I fried tortillas in a small amount of vegetable oil, in a non stick skillet until crisp. I then set them aside in a warming pan.

I then placed chicken chunks in a pan with chicken stock and garlic, and sprinkled some ground cumin. I brought it to a boil, then reduced the heat and cooked it for 1-2 minutes or until the chicken turned opaque. I removed the chicken from the heat and let stand in its hot liquid.

I then placed the crisp tostadas on a plate, sprinkled cheddar cheese all over it. I then removed the chicken from the hot liquid and divide it amongst the tostadas. I topped the chicken with fresh chopped cilantro, diced tomatoes, a handful of chopped romaine lettuce, thinly sliced scallions, sliced avocado, sour cream and a little bit of chipotle chiles. Yum!

Close up shot of all the yummy goodness in the Chicken Tostadas..
Close up shot of all the yummy goodness in the Chicken Tostadas..

Note: If you like beans, you can heat beans in a separate pan with enough water to form a smooth puree. This can be spread on the warm tostadas before adding the chicken.

Leave a Reply

