Carrot, Apple and Celery Soup

It has been a long time, I admit, since I created a tasty soup for my Soup Adventures. And this soup did not disappoint!

I placed carrots, onions, and celery in a large pan and added my homemade vegetable stock  I brought it to a boil, reduced the heat, covered it and let simmer for 10 minutes

In the mean time, I peeled, cored, and diced apples  I chose Granny Smith because they are both sweet and sour.  I added the diced apples, to to sto paste, a bay leaf, and sugar to a pan and brought it to a boil over medium heat  I reduced the heat, partially covered it, and let simmer for 20 minutes  I removed and discarded the bay leaf

Meanwhile, I washed and cored another apple and cut it into thin slices, without peeling. I placed the slices in a small pan and squeezed lemon juice over them. I heated the apple slices gently and let simmer 1-2 minutes, or until the apple was tender.. I drained the apple slices and set aside until ready to use.

I placed the carrot and apple mixture in a blender and processed it until smooth. I returned the soup to the rinsed-out pan, reheated it gently, and seasoned to taste with salt and pepper. I then ladled the soup into warmed bowls, topped with the reserved apple slices (and if you like, shredded celery leaves), and served immediately.

Soooo yummy! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

