Mini Cottage Pies

I decided to try something different.. Mini Cottage Pies. So what makes it different for me? Ground beef. I’m not exactly a ground beef connoisseur. But I gave it a shot 😉

I put chopped carrots into a saucepan, covered them with boiling water, and cooked for 5 minutes. I then added chopped potatoes and cooked for an additional 15 minutes.

While that was cooking, I heated olive oil in a skillet, and sautéed chopped onion and bell peppers for 3 to 4 minutes. I added crushed and chopped garlic and sautéed for 1 minute. I then added lean ground beef and sautéed until browned. I then lightly chopped the meat in a food processor for a few seconds to give it a smoother texture. I returned it to the pan, added fresh chopped parsley, tomato paste, and homemade chicken broth, and brought it to a boil, then covered and let simmer for about 5 minutes. When the potato and carrot were cooked, I strained and mashed them with milk and butter.

I spooned the meat into small ramekins, and topped with the mashed potato and carrot. I brushed them with a little beaten egg, then heated them through in an oven preheated to 350F, then under a preheated broiler until lightly golden.

Leave a Reply

