Chicken & Potato Soup

This is another one of my favorite soups that I modified for gourmet baby food. But, when I make it for myself, I add bacon. The other difference is, I leave all the ingredients very chunky, but for little ones, I chop it in the blender. I leave it still a bit chunky, but once I put it through the blender the texture becomes thicker and actually something a toddler can feed themself. It’s less soupy, and is more of a ‘mash’. 🙂

I melt butter in a large pot over medium heat. I add finely chopped garlic and finely sliced onions, and cook, stirring for 3 minutes, until slightly softened. I then add finely sliced leeks and cook for another 3 minutes, stirring.

In a bowl I mix all purpose flour with enough of my homemade chicken stock to make a smooth paste, and stir that into the pan.  I continue to cook, stirring for 2 minutes. I pour in more of my homemade chicken stock, then add chopped potatoes, and chopped chicken breast. I bring it to a boil, then lower the heat, and simmer for 25 minutes, until the chicken and potatoes are tender and cooked through.

I then put the soup in the blender and chop briefly to create a thick chicken and potato mash texture, yet still chunky.  🙂

Leave a Reply

