Lentil and Vegetable (Purée)

As I have mentioned before in another post, lentils are a good, inexpensive source of protein. They also provide iron, which is very important in brain development, particularly between the ages of six months and two years. So I like the idea of making gourmet baby food with lentils to take advantage of their nutrional goodness. 🙂

I heated vegetable oil and sauteed chopped leek (.you can use onions as well), chopped carrots, and chopped celery for five minutes. I rinsed the lentils, then added them to the pan. I then added peeled and chopped sweet potato and sauteed for one minute. I poured in tomato purée, and one tablespoon of water. I covered the pan and cooked for about 30 minute. I removed the pan from the heat, and stirred in grated cheddar cheese until it melted. I chopped it further in a blender, but still kept it chunky. But you can completely purée it if you prefer. 🙂

Yum!!

Leave a Reply

